Our Money-Back Guarantee

And One Wore Gray


The eagerly-awaited follow-up to Graham's One Wore Blue returns to the Civil War in this sweeping novel of love, war, and the story of the other ... Show synopsis

Find your copy

Buy It from  $0.99
Buy new from  $4.80
Change currency

Reviews of And One Wore Gray

Average rating
5 out of 5 stars
  • This Book Packs an Emotional Wallop! Aug 23, 2013
    by jjares

    Wow! My favorite American historical time period includes the few years before, during and after the Civil War. Heather Graham has chosen wisely; all the Civil War incidents I'm familiar with were described accurately. I?m always distressed when I can recognize errors in any War Between the States? story.

    I didn?t think the story of Jesse and Kiernan (ONE WORE BLUE) could be outdone. However, this story is complex and well-meshed with the events of the Civil War. This is Daniel Cameron?s story (brother of the Union surgeon Jesse). Daniel is a famous Confederate cavalier, one of a small group of crack troops, who incite fear in the Union troops who must do battle with them.

    At the opening of this story, half of the war is over; Daniel is wounded during a battle in Maryland. Hundreds of bodies litter the farm of Callie Michaelson, young widow of a Union soldier. Her three brothers are fighting for the Union cause and she is alone on the farm, trying to keep things going for her brothers.

    Although Daniel is one of the enemy, Callie recognizes that he is a human being that needs help. She takes him in and treats his wounds and fever. As he begins to recover, they discover a mutual attraction in spite of their strong, opposing war convictions.

    As Daniel is leaving, Callie is caught in a terrible predicament: Should she betray him by calling him back and sending him to a Yankee prison or should she allow him to be killed by Yankee sharpshooters? This is a moral dilemma that Callie will agonize over for a long time. This problem is so realistic; it propels the book into deeper issues.

    I liked everything about this book. I?m always saddened when a multiple-storied series leaves earlier characters behind. Graham knows readers love the characters from the first book; she creates situations where they can continue in the second book.

    Be sure to read the tomes in order.

    Cameron?s Saga: Civil War Trilogy
    1. One Wore Blue (1991)
    2. And One Wore Gray (1992)
    3. And One Rode West (1992)

See all reviews of And One Wore Gray by Heather Graham