Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $20
Our Money-Back Guarantee

This is among the more successful entries in Sony's (Insert Name of Great Composer Here) Collection series, and the new listener to classical music will generally enjoy it. The music included leans pretty far in the direction of Bach's great tunes as opposed to his dizzying intellectual accomplishments, his total mastery of harmony, or his profoundly dramatic understanding of religious faith, to take a few more possible entry points. But among all the riches of Bach you have to start somewhere. The performances included are a bit more modern than those on other discs in the series, and even where music has been arranged for different instruments than those Bach had in mind, the results mostly spring from long-established performance traditions; it seems a shame not to have the Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565, in its famous and original organ version, but the arrangement by faux-Polish conductor Leopold Stokowski (though of Polish background he was English as they come, and his ruse extended to... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $1.99
Change currency

Reviews of The Bach Collection

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about The Bach Collection

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to The Bach Collection

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!