Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Purcell: Ten Sonatas in Four Parts ()


Henry Purcell composed a series of trio sonatas in the then novel and even controversial Italian style in the early 1680s. Some were published, but the ones here remained in manuscript and were assembled by his wife into a set (of indeterminate order) and published as Ten Sonatas in Four Parts. They must have seemed odd to their first hearers, and it's not surprising that Purcell saw no market for them during his lifetime. The sonatas are dramatic, jagged, irregular works. There's a bit of the sheer tunefulness of Purcell's incidental music, and of the seriousness of his sacred and dramatic works, but the overall feel is of something experimental, of the open new trio sonata texture mixed with the tradition of English polyphony. These are sonatas of the pre-Corelli type, with sequences of short movements, and Purcell exploits their possibilities in highly imaginative ways. Some of the sonatas complicate themselves into extremely murky harmonic worlds; others explode into instrumental fireworks. What's... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $16.56
Buy new from  $16.56
Change currency

Reviews of Purcell: Ten Sonatas in Four Parts

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Purcell: Ten Sonatas in Four Parts

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Purcell: Ten Sonatas in Four Parts

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!