Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $20
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Mozart: Sinfonia concertante; Concertone ()

by , , , , , ,

The range of available choices for recordings of Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante in E flat for violin, viola, and orchestra, K. 364, is vast; an Amazon search yields 23 pages of them. Yet this 1987 Italian rendering comes out near the top of the list. The players, including those of the Orchestra da camera di Padova e del Veneto, are all Italian veterans, and they catch the essence of Mozart's transformation of the frilly sinfonia concertante genre into one of his big, spread-out pieces of musical architecture. The soloists apply the proper sentimentality to the individual gestures but never lose the larger flow. The only complaint is that the notes make it impossible to tell for certain whether it is Franco Gulli or Piero Toso who is playing violin in the Sinfonia Concertante. An added attraction is that the Sinfonia Concertante is paired with the less-familiar Concertone in C major, K. 190 -- not a suntan lotion for musicians but an ambitious work of Mozart's 18th year, for orchestra and the odd solo... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $36.95
Buy new from  $38.58
Change currency

Reviews of Mozart: Sinfonia concertante; Concertone

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Mozart: Sinfonia concertante; Concertone

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Mozart: Sinfonia concertante; Concertone

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!