Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $20
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Lament for the Makers: A Memorial Anthology


With "Lament for the Makers" W. S. Merwin honors the lives and work of twenty-three poets of our time. Each of them has been important to him, and all of them died during his life as a poet. Following the title poem, Merwin presents works by Dylan Thomas, Wallace Stevens, Edwin Muir, Sylvia Plath, William Carlos Williams, Robert Frost, Theodore Roethke, Louis MacNeice, T. S. Eliot, Randall Jarrell, John Berryman, W. H. Auden, Marianne Moore, Ezra Pound, David Jones, Robert Lowell, Elizabeth Bishop, James Wright, Howard Moss, Robert Graves, Howard Nemerov, William Stafford, and James Merrill. Photographs and brief biographies of the poets are also included. "Lament for the Makers" connects the work of one of our most gifted contemporary poets with the modern masters who have defined the twentieth-century poetic tradition. Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $0.99
Buy new from  $6.27
Change currency

Reviews of Lament for the Makers: A Memorial Anthology

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Lament for the Makers: A Memorial Anthology

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!