Find Your Next Favorite Book
Save up to $20
Our Money-Back Guarantee

Beethoven: The Symphonies and Reflections ()

by , , , , , ,

At first blush, this 2013 BR Klassik set appears to be a standard cycle of Ludwig van Beethoven's nine symphonies, conducted with insight by Mariss Jansons and performed with élan by the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. But closer inspection shows that additional works by modern composers are included as "reflections" on Beethoven's music, in varying degrees of homage and pastiche. The performances of Beethoven's symphonies are mainstream interpretations, and Jansons offers no surprises in these efficient and elegant readings. The tribute pieces, on the other hand, are quite adventurous in their avant-garde techniques and sometimes shocking in their aggression, as in, what one might imagine Beethoven would compose today if he were our contemporary. The performances are live, taken from concerts in Munich and Tokyo, and the playing is quite exciting and spontaneous, giving off sparks in the works by Johannes Maria Staud, Misato Mochizuki, Rodion Shchedrin, Raminta Serksnyté, Giya Kancheli, and Jörg... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $44.34
Buy new from  $44.34

Change currency

Reviews of Beethoven: The Symphonies and Reflections

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Beethoven: The Symphonies and Reflections

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Beethoven: The Symphonies and Reflections

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!