Find Your Next Favorite Book
Our Money-Back Guarantee

A star of Janine Jansen's status and influence could have a major orchestra accompany her in Bach's violin concertos, but she chooses instead to keep her hand-picked ensemble small and intimate, and enjoys the camaraderie of a chamber group. Indeed, the assembly of friends who join Jansen in the Violin Concerto in E major, BWV 1042; Violin Concerto in A minor, BWV 1041; and Concerto for violin and oboe in C minor, BWV 1060, number no more than 12 players, and includes her brother Maarten Jansen on cello and her father, Jan Jansen, on harpsichord, as well as her touring colleague, oboist Ram=n Ortega Quero. Such familiarity yields music of considerable verve and spontaneity, and wherever Jansen leads her musicians, they are quick to follow. Jansen's tempos are brisk and her energy buoys the music in the Allegros, and she keeps the pulse moving forward in the slow movements. She also maintains a propulsive feeling in her performances of the sonatas for harpsichord and violin, BWV 1016 and 1017, and if... Hide synopsis

Find your copy

Buy it from  $17.78
Buy new from  $17.78
Change currency

Reviews of Bach: Concertos

Write this item's first Alibris review Review it now

Discussions about Bach: Concertos

Start a new discussion
  1. What's on your mind? Review post guidelines

Join Today!

Share your ideas with other community members

Create account

Already a member?

Log in now

Subjects related to Bach: Concertos

Get $300 in coupons and other goodies. Sign up for newsletter No, thank you.

You're signed up (and we you). Watch for our Welcome e-mail and your first coupon. Thanks!